Company

Establishment of CMJ and CRJ: MINJEC assesses the progress made

On the occasion of the 23rd International Youth Day (JIJ), celebrated this Friday, August 12, 2022 under the theme: “Intergenerational solidarity: creating a world for all ages”, the Minister of Youth and Civic Education (MINJEC) Mouna Foutsou presided over the opening ceremony of the meeting to assess and monitor the establishment of Municipal Youth Councils (CMJ) and Regional Youth Councils ( CRJ). It was in the presence of development partners such as UNICEF; CVUC; UNFPA; GIZ; the MINDDEVEL and many others.

The first articulation of the said ceremony held in the lounge of the DJEUGA PALACE hotel was the presentation of the Synthesis of the General Report 2021. It is made by the Secretary General of MINJEC, Benga Zachée Robert Théophile, who is also President of the Group of Work in charge of setting up Municipal Youth Councils (CMJ) and Regional Youth Councils (CRJ). He returned to the context of the implementation of these additional entities for supervising young people and the legal anchoring that consecrates these entities. In the presentation by the Representative of MINDDEVEL (Minister of Decentralization and Local Development) focusing in particular on ''The general legal framework for citizen participation in local development, in the context of decentralization'', Brice Kamdem mentioned the interest in decentralization and in particular the will of the Head of State HE Paul BIYA. It thus established the legal framework enshrining citizen participation in local development.

Lire aussi
Webinar on Digital Citizenship: MINJEC arms young people against digital excesses

Minister Mounouna Foutsou in his opening speech and technical framework, welcomed the establishment of Youth Municipal Councils with the support of the partners present. He recalled that the establishment of these youth bodies participated in the materialization of the vision of the President of the Republic, Head of State, HE Paul Biya. Above all, he set the course for the progress of the work: "Ladies and gentlemen, dear experts, let me also refresh your memory as to the missions assigned to this initiative, so that you will have during these meetings, this compass for results that I know in advance are convincing. Indeed, the initiative aims to strengthen civic and patriotic moral values ​​among young people; strengthen the capacity to understand the issues and challenges of local development among young people; improve information for young people on the management of CTDs as well as their involvement in local development projects; encourage the voluntary participation of young people, especially young girls, in the management of local public affairs. »

Lire aussi
Cameroon - Covid Fund: MINEJC's right of reply sent to the Nouvelle Expression newspaper

At the end of the ceremony, Arsène Azandossessi, Deputy Representative of UNICEF in Cameroon expressed his satisfaction to the Cameroonian press: “Very good appreciation, because we gave the opportunity to young people to express themselves at the level of local territories and to contribute to decentralization. So for us as a partner this is an important thing. Admittedly, the Secretary General made it clear in his remarks that there are some challenges, but we are here to support the government and find optimal solutions at the local level. »

237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Société

Mise en place des CMJ et CRJ : le MINJEC évalue le chemin parcouru

À la faveur de la 23ème Journée Internationale de la Jeunesse (JIJ), célébré ce vendredi 12 août 2022 sous le thème : « Solidarité intergénérationnelle : créer un monde pour tous les âges », le Ministre de la Jeunesse et de l’Education Civique (MINJEC) Mouna Foutsou a présidé la cérémonie d’ouverture de la réunion d’évaluation et de suivi de la mise en place des Conseils Municipaux Jeunes (CMJ) et Conseils Régionaux Jeunes (CRJ). C’était en présence des partenaires au développement tels que l’UNICEF ; CVUC ; UNFPA ; GIZ ; le MINDDEVEL et bien d’autres.

La première articulation de ladite cérémonie tenue dans le salon de l’hotel DJEUGA PALACE a été la présentation de la Synthèse du Rapport Général 2021. Elle est faite par le Secrétaire Général du MINJEC, Benga Zachée Robert Théophile, qui par ailleurs est Président du Groupe de Travail chargé de la mise en place des Conseils Municipaux Jeunes (CMJ) et Conseils Régionaux Jeunes (CRJ). Il est revenu sur le contexte de mise en œuvre de ces entités additionnelles d’encadrement des jeunes et l’ancrage juridique qui consacre ces entités. Dans l’exposé du Représentant du MINDDEVEL (Ministre De La Décentralisation et du Développement Local) portant notamment sur ‘’Le cadre juridique général de la participation citoyenne au développement local, dans le contexte de la décentralisation’’, Brice Kamdem a évoqué l’intérêt porté à la décentralisation et notamment la volonté du Chef de l’État S.E.M. Paul BIYA. Il a ainsi établi le cadre juridique consacrant la participation citoyenne au développement local.

Lire aussi
Cameroun : Retour aux sources... Francis Ngannou célèbre son sacre à l’Ouest

Le Ministre Mounouna Foutsou dans son discours d’ouverture et de cadrage technique, s’est réjoui de la mise en place des Conseils Municipaux Jeunes avec l’appui des partenaires présents. Il a rappelé que la mise en place de ces instances jeunes participé de la matérialisation de la vision du Président de la République, Chef de l’État, S.E.M. Paul Biya. Il a surtout fixé le cap pour le déroulement des travaux : « Mesdames, Messieurs, chers experts, laissez-moi également vous rafraîchir la mémoire quant aux missions assignées à cette initiative, afin que vous ayez au cours des présentes assises, cette boussole pour des résultats que je sais d’avance probants. En effet, l’initiative vise à renforcer les valeurs morales civiques et patriotiques chez les jeunes ; renforcer les capacités de compréhension des enjeux et défis du développement local chez les jeunes ; améliorer l’information des jeunes sur la gestion des CTD ainsi que leur implication dans les chantiers de développement local ; susciter la participation volontaire des jeunes notamment des jeunes filles à la gestion des affaires publiques locales. »

Lire aussi
Cameroun : Enseignants mal payés, jeunesse déboussolée

À la fin de la cérémonie, Arsène Azandossessi, Deputy Representative de l’UNICEF au Cameroun a exprimer sa satisfaction à la presse camerounaise : « Très bonne appréciation, parce qu’on a donné l’opportunité aux jeunes de s’exprimer au niveau des territoires locaux et de contribuer à la décentralisation. Donc pour nous en tant que partenaire c’est une chose importante. Certes le Secrétaire Général l’a signifié dans ses propos, il y a quelques défis, mais nous sommes là, pour accompagner le gouvernement et trouver les solutions optimales au niveau local. »

237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page