Company

Cameroon: US support to fight against onchocerciasis

A mass distribution campaign of Mectizan took place on September 6, 2022 in the Minkama 3 village located in the health district of Obala.

Three posts are installed in front of the large courtyard which welcomes the personalities this September 6, 2022 in the village Minkama 3, a locality located in the district of Obala, Center region. A graduated ruler for community health workers to take the size, Mectizan tablets are placed in front of each post. This setting was set up as part of the major mass distribution campaign of Mectizan to the populations of this locality, as part of the fight against onchocerciasis. You must be at least five years old to benefit from a few Mectizan tablets for free. “The number of tablets given to each person depends on their size. Each person who receives the pills is obliged to abstain from alcohol consumption for at least 48 hours. The next dose will be administered next year at the same time,” says a community health worker.

Lire aussi
Cameroon - Black notebook: Death of Yadourou Yabana, sub-prefect of Ngaoui from Covid-19

To appreciate the quality of the onchocerciasis control campaign, His Excellency Christopher Lamora, United States Ambassador to Cameroon went to Minkama 3 to take part in the mass distribution of Mectizan. A strong delegation made up of the Prefect of Lékié, the Sub-Prefect of the district of Obala, the Mayor of the Commune of Obala, the Regional Delegate of Public Health for the Center and the National Director of the Ong Helen Keller International take part in this ceremony. As part of this campaign, the American diplomat came to touch on the impact of the support of the American people in the fight against neglected tropical diseases (NTDs). The objective of this campaign is to treat at least 80% of the total population of Minkama 3. The campaign took place within the framework of the Act To End Ntds | West funded by the United States Agency for International Development (Usaid), managed globally by FHI360 and implemented in Cameroon by Helen Keller International.

Onchocerciasis or river blindness is one of the 18 neglected tropical diseases identified in Cameroon. It is a parasitic disease caused by a worm called onchocerca volvulus. The Mectizan mass distribution campaign against onchocerciasis highlights the technical and financial assistance program of the NGO Helen Keller International to the Ministry of Public Health in the fight against neglected tropical diseases. This program has received US government funding for more than five years. This initiative is in addition to several other programs of the NGO Helen Keller International in Cameroon. Thanks to other funding from the US government, Helen Keller International is leading the food voucher project, which has reached approximately 90 households with a package of interventions to fight malnutrition in the Far North region.

Lire aussi
Cameroon: Jean Jacques Ze sacked from VISION 4

The Food for Education project has also improved school attendance for children under ten in the North region. The vitamin A supplementation program, financed by private American funds, makes it possible to reach around 2,3 million children under the age of five each year, thus preventing them from pathologies such as blindness. The Act | West through which more than 9 million people are treated for onchocerciasis and nearly 16 million Cameroonians have received drugs for lymphatic filariasis. In Cameroon, all 197 health districts are endemic to at least one of the neglected tropical diseases identified.

Lire aussi
Cameroon - Education: New strike threats on the horizon

Prince Nguimbous / 237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Société

Cameroun : Le soutien des Usa pour lutter contre l’onchocercose

Une campagne de distribution de masse du Mectizan a eu lieu le 6 septembre 2022 dans le village Minkama 3 situé dans le district de santé d’Obala.

Trois postes sont installés devant la grande cour qui accueille les personnalités ce 6 septembre 2022 au village Minkama 3, localité située dans l’arrondissement d’Obala, région du Centre. Une règle graduée permettant aux agents de santé communautaire de prendre la taille, des comprimés de Mectizan sont placés devant chaque poste. Ce décor a été mis en place dans le cadre de la grande campagne de distribution de masse du Mectizan aux populations de cette localité, dans le cadre de la lutte contre l’onchocercose. Il faut être âgé de cinq ans au moins pour bénéficier gratuitement de quelques comprimés de Mectizan. «Le nombre de comprimés remis à chaque personne dépend de sa taille. Chaque personne qui reçoit les comprimés est obligée de se priver de la consommation de l’alcool pendant 48 heures au moins. La prochaine dose sera administrée l’année prochaine à la même période », affirme un agent de santé communautaire.

Lire aussi
Cameroun - Carnet noir : Mort de Yadourou Yabana, sous-préfet de Ngaoui du Covid-19

Pour apprécier la qualité de la campagne de lutte contre l’onchocercose, son excellence Christopher Lamora, ambassadeur des Etats-Unis au Cameroun s’est rendu à Minkama 3 pour prendre part à la distribution de masse du Mectizan. Une forte délégation composée du Préfet de la Lékié, du Sous-préfet de l’arrondissement d’Obala, du Maire de la Commune d’Obala, du Délégué régional de la Santé Publique pour le Centre et du Directeur National de l’Ong Helen Keller international prennent part à cette cérémonie. Dans le cadre de cette campagne, le diplomate américain est venu toucher du doigt l’impact du soutien du peuple américain relativement à la lutte contre les maladies tropicales négligées (Mtn). L’objectif de cette campagne est de traiter au moins 80% de la population totale de Minkama 3. La campagne s’est déroulée dans le cadre du programme Act To End Ntds | West financé par l’Agence américaine pour le Développement international (Usaid), géré au niveau mondial par FHI360 et mise en œuvre au Cameroun par Helen Keller International.

L’onchocercose ou cécité des rivières, fait partie des 18 maladies tropicales négligées recensées au Cameroun. Il s’agit d’une maladie parasitaire causée par un ver appelé onchocerca volvulus. La campagne de distribution de masse du Mectizan contre l’onchocercose met en lumière le programme d’assistance technique et financière de l’Ong Helen Keller international auprès du ministère de la Santé publique dans le cadre de la lutte contre les maladies tropicales négligées. Ce programme bénéficie du financement du gouvernement américain depuis plus de cinq ans. Cette initiative s’ajoute à plusieurs autres programmes de l’Ong Helen Keller international au Cameroun. Grâce à d’autres financements du gouvernement américain, Helen Keller international conduit le projet des bons alimentaires qui a permis de toucher environ 90 mille ménages avec un paquet d’interventions de lutte contre la malnutrition dans la région de l’Extrême Nord.

Lire aussi
Cameroun : Jean Jacques Ze limogé de VISION 4

Le projet Food for Education a également permis d’améliorer la fréquentation scolaire des enfants de moins de dix ans dans la région du Nord. Le programme de supplémentation en vitamine A financé par les fonds privés américains, permet de toucher environ 2,3 millions d’enfants de moins de cinq ans chaque année, les évitant ainsi les pathologies comme la cécité. Le programme Act | West à travers lequel plus de 9 millions de personnes sont traitées contre l’onchocercose et près de 16 millions de Camerounais ont reçu les médicaments contre la filariose lymphatique. Au Cameroun tous les 197 districts de santé sont endémiques à au moins une des maladies tropicales négligées recensées.

Lire aussi
Cameroun - Éducation : Nouvelles menaces de grève à l’horizon

Prince Nguimbous / 237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page