Economy

Cameroon - Congelcam: Sylvestre Ngouchinghe "sitting" on the fortune of Mr. Abah Abah?

The boss of Congelcam panted hard, to find himself in the Upper House of Parliament.

The Congelcam site loudly praises “the genius (…) phenomenal” of its promoter, in the field of business. As in any fairy tale that many Cameroonian economic operators like to construct, Sylvestre Ngouchinghe is presented there as having started in 1982 with the retail sale of frozen fish at the Mvog Mbi market in Yaoundé, before reintroducing his first profits in the purchase of freezers and rapidly increase its turnover. An unconventional course. Claiming a capacity of 80.000 tons of storage in the vicinity of the port of Douala, Congelcam also boasts of being able to “receive an entire boat of products practically every 2 days”. With the bad practices revealed by Conac, this crooked importer constitutes, by imagining his tax and customs acrobatics over a decade only, a real disaster for the national economy. Nevertheless. After many forcings and other complicated combinations, after a breathless pre-election dispute opposing him to the Social Democratic Front (Sdf) before the Constitutional Council, Sylvestre Ngouchinghe ended up forcing the doors of Parliament at the end of the senatorial ballot on March 25 2018. And to impose its political leadership in the capital of the West, where the race for billions sometimes gives rise to all kinds of extravagance. Fishing for immunity is well worth all the sacrifices.
On July 7, 2018 in Bafoussam, on the occasion of the official fundraising launch ceremony for the Emergency Plan in the English-speaking regions, the almost senator indeed broke his piggy bank by putting 105 million francs in the kitty. The people exult, salute altruism. His good works are innumerable, in Bamougoum and Baleng, in particular, and in the Mifi department, in general. When you have a war chest acquired under the conditions described in the Conac report, polishing a sulphurous image has never been easier.

Lire aussi
Cameroon: Michael Doranl restores allure to shoes

Under the title "Frustrations: how the Rdpc taunted billionaires in West Cameroon", Le Messager reports, among other things, the misfortune of the promoter of Concelcam, who on March 7, 2013 had to pay in hard cash around 1,2 million CFA francs "to pay his dues over several years as a party activist (... ) in the category of economic operators'. A payment that is all the more surprising given that, according to the privately-owned daily, "it was done for the second time for the same reasons". Not to mention "that the billionaire has bled financially to help several of his running mate pay for expenses related to the constitution of their candidacy filesto the senatorials. His file failed, he will finally be appointed substitute senator. However, he had just contributed 60 million francs to the fight against the Islamist sect Boko Haram. As with the "yellow vests" in France, the base sometimes seems insensitive to the clicking of the wealthy. And Le Jour (04/07/2016) adds, treacherous: “In Bafoussam, the wealth of this man (280 million US dollars, according to the Forbes ranking) does not escape insinuations.

Lire aussi
Public companies: The IMF prescribes Schumpeterian therapy in Cameroon

Notable Bamougoum

For some, it would only be the visible face of a nebula lurking in the corridors of the palace. The name of Polycarpe Abah Abah, ex-Minefi now in prison, was read on leaflets at one time. It is also attributed many facilities. Those close to Congelcam do not fail to make a connection between these insinuations and his entry into politics. In early 2016, indeed, vengeful leaflets began to flourish in the street in favor of the former Minister of Economy and Finance. The notable Bamougoum would, we learn, "sit" on the fortune of Mr. Abah Abah "and would refuse to hear about the difficulties of his accomplice". Citing "the buildings at the Bonamoussadi crossroads, from Akwa Nord, Akwa, Bonanjo to Douala via Bastos in Yaoundé to name but a few, the starting funds, all the facilities granted to Congelcam", the anonymous document demands that all of this is returned to the state in order to "that Polycarpe Abah Abah be freed and that money laundering cease". "Enough is enough !!! The family is fed up... Let the trickery stop...Contrary to his response to Conac, this time, Mr. Ngouchinghe had lost his language. Close the ban.

Un commentaire

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Economie

Cameroun – Congelcam: Sylvestre Ngouchinghe «assis» sur la fortune de M. Abah Abah ?

Le patron de Congelcam a ahané dur, pour se retrouver à la Chambre haute du parlement.

Le site de Congelcam vante bruyamment «le génie (…) phénoménal» de son promoteur, dans le domaine des affaires. Comme dans tout conte de fées qu’aiment à se construire beaucoup d’opérateurs économiques camerounais, Sylvestre Ngouchinghe y est présenté comme ayant débuté en 1982 par la vente en détail de poissons congelés au marché Mvog Mbi, à Yaoundé, avant de réintroduire ses premiers bénéfices dans l’achat de congélateurs et d’augmenter rapidement son chiffre d’affaires. Un parcours peu classique. Revendiquant une capacité de 80.000 tonnes d’entreposage dans les environs du port de Douala, Congelcam se vante aussi de pouvoir «réceptionner un bateau entier de produits pratiquement tous les 2 jours». Avec les mauvaises pratiques révélées par la Conac, cet importateur véreux constitue, en imaginant ses acrobaties fiscales et douanières sur une décennie seulement, un sinistre réel pour l’économie nationale. N’empêche. Au bout de moult forcings et autres combinaisons compliquées, après un haletant contentieux pré-électoral l’opposant au Social Democratic Front (Sdf) devant le Conseil constitutionnel, Sylvestre Ngouchinghe a fini par forcer les portes du Parlement au terme du scrutin sénatorial du 25 mars 2018. Et à imposer son leadership politique dans le chef-lieu de l’Ouest, où la course aux milliards donne parfois lieu à toutes les extravagances. La pêche à l’immunité vaut bien tous les sacrifices.
Le 7 juillet 2018 à Bafoussam, à l’occasion de la cérémonie de lancement officiel de collecte de fonds pour le Plan d’urgence dans les régions anglophones, le presque sénateur casse en effet sa tirelire en mettant 105 millions de francs dans la cagnotte. Le peuple exulte, salue l’altruisme. Ses bonnes œuvres ne se comptent pas, à Bamougoum et Baleng, en particulier et dans le département de la Mifi, en général. Lorsqu’on dispose d’un trésor de guerre acquis dans les conditions que décrit le rapport de la Conac, polir une image sulfureuse n’a jamais été aussi simple.

Sous le titre «Frustrations : comment le Rdpc a nargué les milliardaires à l’Ouest Cameroun», Le Messager rapporte, entre autres, l’infortune du promoteur de Concelcam, qui le 7 mars 2013 a dû débourser en espèces sonnantes et trébuchantes environ 1,2 million Fcfa «pour régler ses cotisations sur plusieurs années comme militant du parti (…) dans la catégorie des opérateurs économiques». Un versement d’autant plus surprenant que, selon le quotidien à capitaux privés, «il s’effectuait pour la seconde fois pour des mêmes motifs». Sans compter «que le milliardaire a saigné financièrement pour aider plusieurs de ses colistiers à régler des dépenses liées à la constitution de leurs dossiers de candidature» aux sénatoriales. Son dossier recalé, il sera finalement nommé sénateur suppléant. Il venait pourtant de contribuer, à hauteur de 60 millions de francs, pour la lutte contre la secte islamiste Boko Haram. Comme avec les «gilets jaunes» en France, la base semble parfois insensible au cliquant des fortunés. Et Le Jour (04/07/2016) de renchérir, perfide : «A Bafoussam, la richesse de cet homme (280 millions de dollars US, selon le classement Forbes) n’échappe pas aux insinuations.

Notable Bamougoum

Pour certains, il ne serait que la face visible d’une nébuleuse tapie dans les couloirs du palais. Le nom de Polycarpe Abah Abah, ex-Minefi aujourd’hui en prison, a été lu sur des tracts à une époque. On lui attribue aussi de nombreuses facilités. Les proches de Congelcam ne manquent pas de faire un rapprochement entre ces insinuations et son entrée en politique.» En début 2016 en effet, des tracts vengeurs se mettent à fleurir dans la rue en faveur de l’ancien ministre de l’Économie et des Finances. Le notable Bamougoum serait, apprend-on, «assis» sur la fortune de M. Abah Abah «et refuserait d’entendre parler des difficultés de son complice». Citant «les immeubles du carrefour Bonamoussadi, d’Akwa Nord, Akwa, Bonanjo à Douala en passant par Bastos à Yaoundé pour ne citer que ceux-là, les fonds de départ, toutes les facilités accordées à Congelcam», le document anonyme exige que tout cela soit restitué à l’État afin «que Polycarpe Abah Abah soit libéré et que cesse le blanchiment d’argent». «Trop, c’est trop !!! La famille en a marre… Que la supercherie cesse…» Contrairement à sa réplique à la Conac, cette fois-là, M. Ngouchinghe avait perdu sa langue. Fermez le ban.

Tags
Afficher plus

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Bouton retour en haut de la page
Fermer
Fermer