International

Ottawa police arrested two participants in the trucker protests

Police have arrested two people for offenses committed during the truckers' protests in Ottawa. This is according to the police of the capital.

They are two inhabitants of 29 and 37 years old. Last weekend, during a demonstration, one of them committed offenses against public property and the other was arrested on Sunday for having carried a concealed weapon. In total, the police opened 13 files, including an investigation related to the dance of an unknown woman at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

As a reminder, last week, activists proposed to truckers to form "A convoy of freedom" after the Canadian authorities announced that the vaccine passport would be requested from truckers crossing the border with the United States. On January 23, the first column of Rovers left British Columbia heading for Ottawa. Moving east, the demonstrators are joined by their colleagues from other regions. A special fund has been organized to support their initiative, 8 million dollars have already been raised.

Lire aussi
EU discusses lifting sanctions against number of Russians (Bloomberg)

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and his family left the Ottawa residence on January 29 for safety reasons, and on Monday said he had contracted Covid-19. The Prime Minister also said he had no intention of negotiating with the protesters in Ottawa, calling them a "small marginalized minority". In total, from 5 to 18.000 people participated in the demonstrations, according to police estimates.

237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

International

La police d’Ottawa a arrêté deux participants aux manifestations des camionneurs

La police a arrêté deux personnes pour des infractions commises lors des manifestations des camionneurs à Ottawa. C’est ce qu’indique la police de la capitale.

Il s’agit de deux habitants de 29 et 37 ans. Le week-end dernier, lors d’une manifestation, l’un d’eux a commis des infractions contre des propriétés publiques et l’autre été arrêté dimanche pour avoir eu sur lui une arme dissimulée. Au total, la police a ouvert 13 dossiers, dont une enquête liée a la danse d’une femme inconnue sur la Tombe du soldat inconnu.

Pour rappel, la semaine dernière, des activistes ont proposé aux camionneurs de former « Un convoi de la liberté » après que les autorités canadiennes ont annoncé que le passeport vaccinal serait demandé aux routiers franchissant la frontière avec les États-Unis. Le 23 janvier, la première colonne de routiers a quitté la Colombie-Britannique en direction d’Ottawa. En se déplaçant vers l’est, les manifestants se font rejoindre par leurs collègues d’autres régions. Un fonds spécial a été organisé pour soutenir leur initiative, 8 millions de dollars ont déjà été récoltés.

Lire aussi
L'UE discute de la levée des sanctions contre un certain nombre de Russes (Bloomberg)

Le premier ministre du Canada Justin Trudeau et sa famille ont quitté le 29 janvier la résidence d’Ottawa pour des raisons de sécurité, et lundi a indiqué qu’il avait contracté le Covid-19. Le premier ministre a également déclaré qu’il n’avait pas l’intention de négocier avec les manifestants à Ottawa, les qualifiant de « petite minorité marginalisée ». Au total, de 5 à 18.000 personnes ont participé aux manifestations, selon les estimations de la police.

237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page