Sports

Cameroon: Sambo athletes decorated in Yaoundé

They received honorary distinctions awarded on an exceptional basis by the President of the Republic, following the medals won at the end of the 16th African Championships organized by Cameroon from July 16 to 18.

They were a total of 16 athletes who won medals at the end of the 16th African Sambo Championships which took place at the multipurpose sports palace from July 16 to 18. These metals came in 8 gold, 5 silver and 3 bronze. These Sambo athletes had each returned to the family in the usual occupations without forgetting the training for future deadlines, quietly. And suddenly, the information fell. The medal-winning Sambistes of the last African Championships in Yaoundé will receive decorations. Some athletes almost thought it was just a rumour. But, the press release signed by the Minister of Sports, Professor Narcisse Mouelle Kombi of August 09, 2022 dispelled all skepticism: “Solemn ceremony for the presentation of honorary distinctions awarded on an exceptional basis by the President of the Republic to the Indomitable Lions of Sambo, which occupied the first place at the end of the 16th African Championships organized by Cameroon from July 16 to 18, 2022”.

They were all present yesterday, August 10, 2022 at the multipurpose Sports Palace, these Sambists, accompanied by their leaders, headed by François Mbassi, the president of the Cameroonian Federation of Nambudo and Sambo, the technical and medical supervisors. All received decorations ranging from Knight of the Order of Valor for François Mbassi, to Knight of the Cameroonian Order of Merit for Albert Ateba Koungou, vice-president of the Cameroonian Federation of Nambudo and Sambo, president of the national league of Sambo and Knight of the Order of Sports Merit for athletes.

Lire aussi
Can Cameroon 2021: Caf gives five months to deliver the Olembe stadium

These decorations were hung on the chests of each by the Minister of Sports, after the declaration of use, under the applause and ululations of the members of the families and friends of the recipients. "The appreciation by the very high hierarchy of the vitality and the always affirmed liveliness of the national sports movement is a strong signal which allows it to nourish hopes for an ever more ambitious, more fruitful, ever more victorious and more glorious (…) This tribute obviously, incidentally, eminently reflects on our three athletes who recently won medals at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, as much as our wishes for full success and admirable performances accompany the Cameroon Team currently participating in the Games of the Islamic Solidarity in Konya, Turkey and who have already garnered, according to the latest count, two medals”, said Professor Narcisse Mouelle Kombi.

Lire aussi
Kouékong Omnisport Stadium: Senegal-Guinea, the shock of Pool B

"Sambo has been used to raise the flag of Cameroon eight times, to the rhythm of the national anthem of Cameroon"

And François Mbassi to recall a fact by throwing a spade at football: “Who would have thought, in two days of competition. Sambo, an embryonic discipline, a few years ago, was used to raise the flag of Cameroon eight times, to the rhythm of the national anthem of Cameroon which was solemnly sung here to bring out patriotism and national pride in the same way than football and other disciplines. Moreover, when football wins, we sing the national anthem only once. Well done, Sambists! ».

By evoking the history of this discipline in Cameroon, which has barely a decade of existence and practice. Like a train leaving the station for a better destination than before and elsewhere, as noted by the president of this Federation, Sambo Cameroon came out of its cradle in 2011 in Cameroon to embark on the fullness of its age. Today, we have World Champions and this decorations ceremony is the consecration, the hologram of everything that has happened for more than a decade.

And if we stick to our information drawn from a good source, these decorations for the medalists were accompanied by bonuses received by the athletes well before the ceremony. The official reminder scale is 3.000.000 FCfa to reward the athlete who returns from competition with a gold medal, 2.000.000 FCfa for the silver medal and 1.000.000 FCfa for the bronze medal. Of course, from these amounts, 11% of taxes are deducted. It's already a good thing for what happened with the Sambistes. Except that there are other athletes in other disciplines, having garnered medals at the international level, who are still waiting for the same attention.

Lire aussi
Newcomers to the lion's den: Sacha Boey, right-back

Achille Chountsa / 237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Sport

Cameroun : Les athlètes de Sambo décorés à Yaoundé

Ils ont reçu des distinctions honorifiques attribuées à titre exceptionnel par le président de la République, suite aux médailles remportées à l’issue des 16ème Championnats d’Afrique organisés par le Cameroun du 16 au 18 juillet derniers.

Ils étaient au total 16 athlètes ayant remporté des médailles à l’issue des 16èmes Championnats d’Afrique de Sambo qui se sont déroulés au palais polyvalent des sports du 16 au 18 juillet derniers. Ces métaux se déclinaient en 8 médailles d’or, 5 en argent et 3 en bronze. Ces athlètes de Sambo étaient chacun rentré en famille dans les occupations habituelles sans oublier les entraînements pour les échéances futures, tranquillement. Et du coup, l’information est tombée. Les Sambistes médaillés des derniers Championnats d’Afrique à Yaoundé, vont recevoir des décorations. Certains athlètes ont failli croire qu’il s’agissait juste d’une rumeur. Mais, le communiqué signé du ministre des Sports, le Pr Narcisse Mouelle Kombi du 09 août 2022 est venu dissiper tout scepticisme : « Cérémonie solennelle de remise de distinctions honorifiques attribuées à titre exceptionnel par le président de la République aux Lions Indomptables de Sambo, qui ont occupé la première place à l’issue des 16ème Championnats d’Afrique organisés par le Cameroun du 16 au 18 juillet 2022 ».

Ils étaient tous présents hier, 10 août 2022 au palais polyvalent des Sports, ces Sambistes, accompagnés de leurs dirigeants en tête desquels François Mbassi, le président de la Fédération camerounaise de Nambudo et de Sambo, les encadreurs techniques et médicaux. Tous ont reçu des décorations allant de Chevalier de l’ordre de la valeur pour François Mbassi, à Chevalier de l’ordre du mérite camerounais pour Albert Ateba Koungou, vice-président de la Fédération camerounaise de Nambudo et Sambo, président de la ligue nationale de Sambo et Chevalier de l’ordre du mérite sportif pour les athlètes.

Lire aussi
Can Cameroun 2021 : La Caf donne cinq mois pour livrer le stade d’Olembe

Ces décorations ont été accrochées sur les poitrines de chacun par le ministre des Sports, après la déclaration d’usage, sous les applaudissements et youyous des membres des familles et amis des récipiendaires. « L’appréciation par la très haute hiérarchie de la vitalité et de la vivacité toujours affirmée du mouvement sportif national est un signal fort qui permet à celui-ci de nourrir des espoirs pour des lendemains toujours plus ambitieux, plus fructueux, toujours plus victorieux et davantage glorieux (…) Cet hommage rejaillit évidemment, incidemment, éminemment, sur nos trois athlètes tout récemment médaillés des Jeux du Commonwealth à Birmingham, autant que nos vœux de plein succès et d’admirables prestations accompagne la Cameroon Team participant actuellement aux Jeux de la Solidarité islamique à Konya, en Turquie et qui y ont déjà engrangé, selon le dernier décompte, deux médailles », a indiqué le Pr Narcisse Mouelle Kombi.

Lire aussi
Stade omnisport de Kouékong : Sénégal-Guinée, le choc de la poule B

« Le Sambo a servi à lever le drapeau du Cameroun huit fois, au rythme de l’hymne national du Cameroun »

Et François Mbassi de rappeler un fait en lançant une pique au football : « Qui eût cru, en deux jours de compétition. Le Sambo, discipline embryonnaire, il y a quelques années, a servi à lever le drapeau du Cameroun huit fois, au rythme de l’hymne national du Cameroun qui a été chanté ici solennellement pour faire rejaillir le patriotisme et la fierté nationale au même titre que le football et d’autres disciplines. D’ailleurs, quand le football gagne, on chante l’hymne national une seule fois. Bravo, les Sambistes ! ».

En évoquant l’histoire de cette discipline au Cameroun, qui a à peine une décennie d’existence et de pratique. Comme un train quittant la gare pour une destination meilleure qu’avant et ailleurs, comme l’a relevé le président de cette Fédération, le Sambo Cameroun est sorti de son berceau en 2011 au Cameroun pour se lancer vers la plénitude de son âge. Aujourd’hui, nous avons des Champions du monde et cette cérémonie de remise des décorations est la consécration, l’hologramme de tout ce qui s’est passé pendant plus d’une décennie.

Et si l’on s’en tient à nos informations puisées à bonne source, ces décorations pour les médaillés ont été accompagnées de primes perçues par les athlètes bien avant la cérémonie. Le barème officiel en rappel, est de 3.000.000FCfa pour primer l’athlète qui revient de compétition avec une médaille d’or, 2.000.000FCfa pour la médaille d’argent et 1.000.000FCfa pour la médaille de bronze. Bien entendu, de ces montants, sont déduits 11% d’impôts. C’est déjà une bonne chose pour ce qui s’est passé avec les Sambistes. Sauf qu’il y a d’autres athlètes en d’autres disciplines, ayant engrangé des médailles au niveau international, qui attendent toujours d’avoir la même attention.

Lire aussi
Les nouveaux venus dans la tanière des lions : Sacha Boey, arrière droit

Achille Chountsa / 237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page