Economy

Africa Agri forum Live & Huawei Cameroon: what digitalization strategies to boost the agricultural sector?

This is the quintessence of the forum held on Friday March 5, 2021 by videoconference and moderated by Charlotte Libog of Afrique Grenier, on the challenges of food security in Africa.

This platform dedicated to strategies aimed at boosting the agricultural sector in Africa had the effective participation of the Cameroonian Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Gabriel Baïrobé, alongside His Excellency Josefa Leonel Sacko, Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development and blue economy, as well as sustainable environment with the African Union. Loïse Tamalgo who is the Vice-President in charge of public relations for Sub-Saharan Africa at Huawei was also present, as well as His Excellency Moulay Lahcen Ennahli Senior Vice-President West Africa of OCP Africa. 

At first glance, it is not superfluous to say that Africa alone represents 60% of the world's arable land, and also enjoys unprecedented demographic growth, testifying to the presence of a considerable market. It also benefits from the availability of cheap labour, but also from hydraulic potential. Despite this significant potential, Africa remains the only continent in the world that massively imports what is consumed by its population. Anything that does not allow her to claim food security in the current state of affairs. Hence the validity of this forum on the challenges of food security in Africa.

His Excellency Josefa Leonel Sacko enlightened everyone on the agricultural policy advocated by the African Union: “the Heads of State and Government of the African Union during the 33th Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the AU have adopted the digital transformation strategy in Africa in which digital agriculture has a prominent place. And that is what we are working on, trying to turn the decision of Heads of State into action…Technology and digital innovations open up vast untapped potential for farmers, investors and entrepreneurs to improve the efficiency of food production and consumption in Africa… From precision agriculture to an efficient food supply chain, this technology could bring major economic, social and environmental benefit…”   

HUAWEI company logo
Huawei official logo

HE JOSEFA LEONEL C. SAKO, Commissioner for Agriculture, Rural Development, Blue Economy and Sustainable Environment at the African Union: “Technology and digital innovations open up vast untapped potential for farmers, investors and entrepreneurs to improve the efficiency of food production and processing in Africa”.  She therefore took the opportunity offered to her to appreciate HUAWEI and suggest to the multinational to find a way to create an Application “SMART SEEDS” which could make it possible to identify and better manage plants to facilitate and modernize Agriculture in Africa.

The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development of Cameroon, for his part, gave an overview of the Cameroonian strategy driven by His Excellency Paul Biya who calls with all his wishes for an agriculture of 2nd generation to solve not only the problems of poverty but also to eradicate hunger in Cameroon as agreed in the Malabo commitments and in the 2063 commitments of the African Union. The Minister encouraged Huawei's efforts in the digitization of this sector and specified that the government of Cameroon welcomes a more extensive partnership with the Chinese high-tech equipment manufacturer Huawei, already present in Cameroon in other segments.

Thus, Cameroon has always been active in improving access for all to information and communication technologies. It has set itself the objective, in the ICT sector strategy… of providing 40 villages with telecommunications means, and of making available to the public a 000 Megabit/Second internet access offer in all towns with a digital center and multiply by 2 the number of direct and indirect jobs...

"The question of agriculture for us is very important and you will certainly ask us for an equipment supplier like Huawei what is there to do, between the boxes we sell and the food. A hyphen is between the two, it is about Africa which is the ground where we operate, which is the ground where we think the future will be, and Africa where there is the opportunity to be able to deploy major strategies. Whether in digital matters, in agriculture, quite simply in Africa there is a lot to be done to work in the direction of the sustainable development objectives defined by the UN and of course mentioned in the program of the 2063 objective. of the AU to which we adhere unequivocally. For us, technology is at the service of development, it is the 1st purpose of technology…” declared among others, Loïse Tamalgo, during this exchange platform on digital agriculture.

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Economie

Africa Agri forum Live & Huawei Cameroun : quelles stratégies de digitalisation pour booster le secteur agricole ?

Telle est la quintessence du forum tenu le vendredi 5 mars 2021 par vidéoconférence et modéré par Charlotte Libog d’Afrique Grenier, sur les défis de la sécurité alimentaire en Afrique.

Cette plateforme dédiée aux stratégies visant à booster le secteur agricole en Afrique a connu la participation effective du Ministre camerounais de l’Agriculture et du Développement Rural Gabriel Baïrobé, à côté de Son Excellence Josefa Leonel Sacko commissaire chargée de l’agriculture et du développement rural et de l’économie bleu, ainsi que de l’environnement durable auprès de l’Union Africaine. Loïse Tamalgo qui est le Vice-Président chargé des relations publiques pour l’Afrique subsaharien chez Huawei était également de la partie, ainsi que Son Excellence Moulay Lahcen Ennahli Senior Vice-Président West Africa d’ OCP Africa. 

De prime abord, il n’est superfétatoire de dire que l’Afrique à elle seule représente 60% des terres arables mondiales, et jouit de surcroît d’une croissance démographique sans précédent, témoignant de la présence d’un marché considérable. Elle bénéficie aussi de la disponibilité d’une main d’œuvre bon marché, mais également d’un potentiel hydraulique. En dépit de ce potentiel important, l’Afrique reste le seul continent dans le monde qui importe massivement ce qui est consommé par sa population. Toute chose qui ne la permet pas à prétendre à une sécurité alimentaire en l’état actuel des choses. D’où le bien-fondé de ce forum sur les défis de la sécurité alimentaire en Afrique.

Son Excellence Josefa Leonel Sacko a édifié les uns et les autres sur la politique agricole préconisé par l’Union Africaine : « les Chefs d’Etat et Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine lors de la 33ème Assemblée des Chefs d’Etats et de Gouvernement de l’UA ont adopté la stratégie de transformation numérique en Afrique dans laquelle l’agriculture numérique a une place de choix. Et c’est sur cela que nous sommes en train de travailler, d’essayer de transformer la décision des Chefs d’Etat en action… La technologie et les innovations numériques ouvrent un vaste potentiel inexploité aux agriculteurs, aux investisseurs et aux entrepreneurs pour améliorer l’efficacité de la production et la consommation alimentaire en Afrique…  De l’agriculture de précision à une chaîne d’approvisionnement alimentaire efficace, cette technologie pourrait apporter un avantage économique, social et environnemental majeur… »   

Logo de l'entreprise HUAWEI
Logo officiel de Huawei

SE JOSEFA LEONEL C. SAKO, commissaire chargé de l’agriculture, du développement rural, de l’économie bleue et de l’environnement durable à l’Union Africaine : « la technologie et les innovations numériques ouvrent un vaste potentiel inexploité aux agriculteurs, aux investisseurs et aux entrepreneurs pour améliorer l’efficacité de la production et la transformation alimentaire en Afrique ».  Elle a donc saisi l’occasion lui offerte pour apprécier HUAWEI et suggérer à la multinationale de trouver le moyen de créer une Application « SMART SEEDS » qui pourrait permettre d’identifier et de mieux gérer les plantes pour faciliter et moderniser l’Agriculture en Afrique.

Le Ministre de l’Agriculture et du Développement Rurale du Cameroun a pour sa part, fait le tour d’horizon sur la stratégie camerounaise impulsé par Son Excellence Paul Biya qui appelle de tous ses vœux à une agriculture de 2nde génération pour résoudre non seulement les problèmes de la pauvreté mais aussi éradiquer la faim au Cameroun tel que convenu dans les engagements de Malabo et dans les engagements 2063 de l’Union Africaine. Le ministre a encouragé les efforts de Huawei dans la digitalisation de ce secteur  et à préciser que le gouvernement du Cameroun voit d’un bon œil un partenariat plus poussé avec l’équipementier High-tech chinois Huawei, déjà présent au Cameroun dans d’autres segments.

Ainsi, le Cameroun s’est toujours activé à améliorer l’accès de tous aux technologies de l’information et de la communication. Il s’est fixé pour objectif, dans la stratégie sectorielle des TIC… de doté 40 000 villages de moyens de télécommunication, et de mettre à la disposition du public une offre d’accès internet de 2 Mégabit/Seconde dans toutes les villes ayant une centrale numérique et de multiplier par 50 le nombre d’emploi direct et indirect…

« La question de l’agriculture pour nous est très importante et vous nous demanderez certainement pour un équipementier comme Huawei qu’est ce qu’il y a faire, entre les boîtes que nous vendons et l’alimentation. Un trait d’union se trouve entre les deux, il s’agit de l’Afrique qui est le terrain où nous opérons, qui est le terrain où nous pensons que l’avenir va se faire, et l’Afrique où il y a l’opportunité de pouvoir déployer de grandes stratégies. Que ce soit en matière digitale, en matière d’agriculture, tout simplement en Afrique il y a beaucoup à faire pour travailler dans le sens des objectifs de développement durable définis par l’ONU et bien sûr mentionnés dans le programme de l’objectif 2063 de l’UA auxquels nous adhérons sans ambages. Pour nous la technologie, est au service du développement, c’est la 1ère finalité de la technologie… » a déclaré entre autres, Loïse Tamalgo, lors de cette plateforme d’échange sur l’agriculture numérique.

Afficher plus

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Bouton retour en haut de la page