Company

Cameroon: Nearly a thousand police officers mobilized in Garoua

They stormed the various crossroads of the capital of the North region for August 12, the date of the march for the release of Marafa Hamidou Yaya, Amadou Vamoulké and Iya Mohammed by the confederation of associations of young people in solidarity with the Cameroon (Cajsc).

It was at 4 a.m. on Friday August 12, 2022 that nearly a thousand elements of the national police stormed the Lopéré district where Mohamadou Bouba resides, the initiator of the liberation march of the sieurs Marafa Hamidou Yaya, former Minister of Territorial Administration, Amadou Vamoulké, former director general of Crtv and Iya Mohamed, former director general of Sodecoton and former president of Fecafoot. Other neighborhoods were also stormed by law enforcement, namely the Foulbéré neighborhood and part of the large Garoua market.

The purpose of the security system was to keep the organizer of the march at home, but also to search the neighborhood and his home. In small groups, the national security elements combed through houses in the Lopéré district. These elements of the police were looking for placards, banners and other gadgets made for the march; subsequently, track the entrances and exits of this district. Until 8 a.m. that day, the inhabitants of the Lopéré district were confined to their homes. The motorcycle taxis and the populations were subject to crossing the various checkpoints. Crowds of more than two people were immediately dispersed.

Lire aussi
Cameroon / 1 killer and 4 thieves arrested in Garoua

In the urban center of Garoua, the deployment of the police is more noticeable at the crossroads of the large market of Garoua, at the crossroads of the brewery and the office of the Rdpc party. To reach the Total Grand Marché crossroads, you had to show your credentials. The pick-up from the Barnaké border police station was parked on the road and police officers were patrolling the intersection under the supervision of a police commissioner assisted by a police officer. The two men were the only ones to let the vehicles and motorcycle taxis pass. As the hours went by, the situation settled down and the security system was gradually lifted.

Lire aussi
Cameroon - Charity Campaign: Ajara offers eye care in Garoua

Your newspaper reporter has approached a few elements of the patrol seated under the trees. “We don't have permission to talk to journalists, especially no pictures too. I do not want you to photograph my elements, ”kindly launched a 2nd grade officer. According to him, this mission had nothing to do with the march of August 12, 2022 demanding the release of certain pundits of the regime. “There is a series of assaults and robberies by motorcycle. We are there to reassure the population and seek out certain convicts,” explained the police officer met in the Lopéré district.

On the side of the leaders of the confederation of associations of young people in solidarity with Cameroon (Cajsc) nothing filters. Multiple attempts to join the initiator of the march in the city of Garoua were unsuccessful. In Maroua, the march was nipped in the bud by administrative authorities and law enforcement. Pressure was exerted on the leaders of youth associations in Maroua.

Lire aussi
Yona school complex: The stabbed principal is out of danger

Adolarc Lamissia / 237nline.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Société

Cameroun : Près d’un millier de policiers mobilisés à Garoua

Ils ont pris d’assaut les différents carrefours du chef-lieu de la région du Nord pour le 12 août dernier, date de la marche pour la libération de Marafa Hamidou Yaya, Amadou Vamoulké et Iya Mohammed par la confédération des associations des jeunes solidaires du Cameroun (Cajsc).

C’est dès 4 heures du matin le vendredi 12 août 2022, que près d’un millier d’éléments de la police nationale ont pris d’assaut le quartier Lopéré où réside Mohamadou Bouba, l’initiateur de la marche de libération des sieurs Marafa Hamidou Yaya, ancien ministre de l’Administration territoriale, Amadou Vamoulké, ex-directeur général de la Crtv et Iya Mohamed, ancien directeur général de la Sodecoton et ancien président de la Fecafoot. D’autres quartiers ont aussi été pris d’assaut par les forces de maintien de l’ordre à savoir le quartier Foulbéré et une partie du grand marché de Garoua.

Le dispositif sécuritaire avait pour objectif de maintenir l’organisateur de la marche chez lui, mais aussi procéder à la fouille du quartier et de son domicile. Par petits groupes, les éléments de la sûreté nationale ont passé au peigne fin des maisons du quartier Lopéré. Ces éléments de la police étaient à la recherche des pancartes, banderoles et autres gadgets confectionnés pour la marche; par la suite, pister les entrées et sorties de ce quartier. Jusqu’à 8 heures ce jour-là, les habitants du quartier Lopéré étaient cloitrés dans leurs domiciles. Les motos-taxis et les populations étaient soumis à la traversée des différents check points. Les attroupements de plus de deux personnes étaient immédiatement dispersés.

Lire aussi
Cameroun - Réflexion : Quelles armes contre les discours de haine ?

Dans le centre urbain de Garoua, le déploiement de la police est plus perceptible au carrefour du grand marché de Garoua, au carrefour de la brasserie et de la permanence du parti Rdpc. Pour rallier le carrefour Total grand marché, il fallait montrer patte blanche. Le pick-up du poste de police frontier de Barnaké était garé sur la chaussée et des policiers quadrillaient le carrefour sous la supervision d’un commissaire de police assisté d’un officier de police. Les deux hommes étaient les seuls à laisser passer les véhicules et mototaxis. Au fil des heures la situation s’est décantée et le dispositif sécuritaire est levé petit à petit.

Lire aussi
Cameroun - Campagne Caritative : Ajara offre des soins ophtalmologiques à Garoua

Le reporter de votre journal s’est approché de quelques éléments de la patrouille assis sous les arbres. « Nous n’avons pas l’autorisation de parler aux journalistes, surtout pas d’images aussi. Je ne souhaite pas que vous photographiez mes éléments », a gentiment lancé un officier de 2ème grade. Selon lui, cette mission n’avait rien à voir avec la marche du 12 août 2022 réclamant la libération de certains pontes du régime. « Il y a une série d’agressions et de vols par moto. Nous sommes là pour rassurer la population et rechercher certains repris de justice », a expliqué l’officier de police rencontré au quartier Lopéré.

Du coté des leaders de la confédération des associations des jeunes solidaires du Cameroun (Cajsc) rien ne filtre. Les multiples tentatives de joindre l’initiateur de la marche dans la ville de Garoua sont restés vaines. À Maroua, ladite marche a été étouffée dans l’œuf par les autorités administratives et les forces de maintien de l’ordre. Des pressions ont été exercées sur les leaders d’associations des jeunes de Maroua.

Lire aussi
Suppression du rapport de HRW: Owona Nguini en flagrant délit de mensonge

Adolarc Lamissia / 237nline.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page