Company

Cameroon: Chief of Garoua Boulai kidnapped then released

His Majesty Koulagna Joseph has been breathing the air of freedom again since August 11, 2022, after four days of detention by hostage takers of Central African nationality.

The head of the Béthanie district is finally free thanks to a ransom of 1.300.000 CFA francs collected by his family. It all starts on Wednesday, August 03, 2022, His Majesty Joseph Koulagna was kidnapped by the alleged rebels from the RCA as he went to his field to leave supplies to his workers. The victim was taken to Central African territory after crossing the Kadey River which runs along the eastern border of the town of Garoua Boulai. After 24 hours, the kidnappers demanded a ransom of 10 CFA francs. Three days later, the chief's wife was able to raise the sum of 000.000 CFA francs.

Lire aussi
KCT / DGA case: the collaborator of the bailiff in charge of the file copiously beaten up by Philémon Mendo

She went to CAR with this part of the ransom to demand the release of her husband. He was released a few days later. The chief after his release testifies that his captors are heartless given his condition and attracts the vigilance of the local populations. “Pastors, imams, priests, and others can ask all those who cultivate on the eastern side of Garoua Boulai to refrain from going to their fields until further notice.

Lire aussi
Cameroon: Gertrude Keegoui wants to revolutionize agriculture in her country

The time that the police can ensure the safety of the populations so that they resume their rural activities, ”he warns. According to His Majesty Paul Nnom, Taparé village chief: "It should be noted that the phenomenon of hostage-taking in the town of Garoua Boulai always occurs at the same time of year, when farmers harvest yams and other country products, this to discourage the lords of the land, to make them abandon their fields at the mercy of those who are called highway robbers”.

Charles Mahop / 237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Société

Cameroun : Le chef de Garoua Boulai kidnappé puis libéré

Sa majesté Koulagna Joseph respire à nouveau l’air de la liberté depuis le 11 août 2022, après quatre jours de détention par les preneurs d’otages de nationalité centrafricaine.

Le chef du quartier Béthanie est enfin libre ceci grâce à une rançon de 1.300.000 Fcfa collectée par sa famille. Tout commence le mercredi 03 août 2022, sa majesté Joseph Koulagna a été enlevé par les présumés rebelles venus de la Rca alors qu’il allait dans son champ laisser le ravitaillement à ses travailleurs. La victime, est conduit en territoire centrafricain après avoir traversé le fleuve Kadey qui longe la frontière Est de la ville de Garoua Boulai. Après 24 heures, les ravisseurs ont revendiqué une rançon de 10 .000.000 Fcfa. Trois jours plus tard, la femme du chef a pu réunir la somme de 1.300.000 Fcfa.

Lire aussi
Cameroun - Santé holistique : Andréa Bomo au chevet des femmes désespérées

Elle s’est rendue en Rca avec cette partie de la rançon pour réclamer la libération de son mari. Il a été libéré quelques jours plus tard. Le chef après sa libération témoigne que ses ravisseurs sont sans cœur vu son état et attire la vigilance des populations riveraines. « Les pasteurs, imams, prêtres, et autres puissent demander à tous ceux qui cultivent du côté Est de Garoua Boulai de s’abstenir d’aller dans leurs champs jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Lire aussi
Traitement anti-coronavirus : Voici la recette de grand-mère du Dr Peyou Ndi Samba Mbezele Marlyse

Le temps que les forces de l’ordre puissent assurer la sécurité des populations afin qu’elles reprennent leurs activités champêtres », avertit-il. Selon Sa Majesté Paul Nnom, chef du village Taparé : « Il faut noter que le phénomène de prise d’otages dans la ville de Garoua Boulai survient toujours à la même période de l’année, période à laquelle les cultivateurs récoltent les ignames et autres produits champêtres, ceci pour décourager les seigneurs de la terre, leur faire abandonner leurs champs à la merci de ceux que l’on appelle coupeurs de route ».

Charles Mahop / 237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page