Company

Health: Banque Atlantique Cameroun marches against male cancers

Bank employees marched in the streets of Douala on November 26, 2022 to raise awareness about these cancers that are little known to the public.

They beat the macadam of the streets of Akwa. Under the supervision of officials from the regional sports delegation of the Littoral, employees of the Banque Atlantique Cameroun marched to say a stop to male cancers. Punctuated by physical exercises, the "Blue March", in reference to the month of November for the fight against male cancers, made it possible to “to engage and raise public awareness of these little-known cancers”, say walkers.

"After Pink October dedicated to the fight against breast cancer in women and Blue November for the fight against male cancers, Banque Atlantique Cameroun wanted to use the two months to draw public attention to the fight against cancers which are a very large cause of death in the world”, explained Ruth Stella Mbog. The Head of Communication at Banque Atlantique Cameroon indicates that this action is in line with the bank's top management's desire to raise its voice and provide answers to its customers on crucial social issues.

Lire aussi
Cameroon: Regina Elizabeth Mundi, Rdpc senator, kidnapped in Bamenda

According to statistics from the World Health Organization (WHO), cancers are the main causes of death in the world with nearly 10 million deaths in 2020, i.e. almost one in six deaths. The most common are breast, lung, colorectal and prostate cancer. About a third of cancer deaths are due to the 5 main behavioral and dietary risk factors: high body mass index, low consumption of fruits and vegetables, lack of physical exercise, smoking and alcohol consumption.

Lire aussi
Cameroon - Fight against Covid 19: Many missed flights

According to medical professionals, many cancers can be cured if detected early and treated effectively. For Banque Atlantique Cameroon, "It's about raising public awareness of the risk factors for cancer and challenging people to take care of themselves and those around them", insists Ruth Stella Mbog, who specifies that after the march, the bank will continue internally to raise awareness among staff and mobilize women to support men against cancer.

Lire aussi
Cameroon: The populations of Yaoundé under the yoke of the heat wave

237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Société

Santé : Banque Atlantique Cameroun marche contre les cancers masculins

Les employés de la banque ont marché dans les rues de Douala le 26 novembre 2022 pour sensibiliser sur ces cancers peu connus du public.

Ils ont battu le macadam des rues d’Akwa. Sous l’encadrement des responsables de la délégation régionale des sports du Littoral, les employés de la Banque Atlantique Cameroun, ont marché pour dire stop aux cancers masculins. Ponctuée d’exercices physiques, la « Marche bleue », en référence au mois de novembre de lutte contre les cancers masculins, a permis de de « nous engager et sensibiliser le public sur ces cancers peu connus », confient des marcheurs.

« Après le mois octobre rose consacré à la lutte contre le cancer du sein chez la femme et novembre bleu pour la lutte contre les cancers masculins, Banque Atlantique Cameroun a voulu utiliser les deux mois pour attirer l’attention des publics sur la lutte contre les cancers qui sont une très grande cause de mortalité dans le monde », a expliqué Ruth Stella Mbog. Le chef service communication de Banque Atlantique Cameroun indique que cette action s’inscrit dans la volonté du top management de la banque de porter sa voix et d’apporter des réponses à sa clientèle sur des sujets sociaux cruciaux.

Lire aussi
Cameroun : Régina Elizabeth Mundi, sénatrice Rdpc, enlevée à Bamenda

D’après des statistiques de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), les cancers sont les principales causes de mortalité dans le monde avec près de 10 millions de décès en 2020, soit presque un décès sur six. Les plus courants sont le cancer du sein, du poumon, colorectal et la prostate. Environ un tiers des décès par cancer sont dus aux 5 principaux facteurs de risque comportementaux et alimentaires: un indice élevé de masse corporelle, une faible consommation de fruits et légumes, le manque d’exercice physique, le tabagisme et la consommation d’alcool.

Lire aussi
Cameroun - Lutte contre le Covid 19 : De nombreux vols ratés

Selon les professionnels de la santé, de nombreux cancers peuvent être guéris s’ils sont détectés tôt et traités efficacement. Pour Banque Atlantique Cameroun, « il est question de sensibiliser le public sur les facteurs de risques des cancers et d’interpeller les gens à se prendre en charge eux-mêmes et ceux qui sont autour d’eux », martèle Ruth Stella Mbog, qui précise qu’après la marche, la banque poursuivra en interne la sensibilisation des staffs et la mobilisation des femmes pour soutenir les hommes contre les cancers.

Lire aussi
Cameroun: Les populations de Yaoundé sous le joug de la canicule

237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page