Company

Academic tribute of Pr André Gouaze: The scientific aura of Pr Maurice Aurélien Sosso illuminates Cameroon

Rector of the University of Yaoundé I in the political capital of Cameroon, His Majesty Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, on September 07, 2022, had the honor of delivering academic tributes in memory of Pr André GOUAZE, Founding President of the International Conference of Deans of French-speaking Faculties of Medicine. The illustrious disappeared was also, Honorary Dean of the very posh Faculty of Medicine of Tours in France.

With all the dignity, the measure and the accuracy that we know him, it is rightly that he returned to the Rector of the University of Yaoundé I, Professor Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, himself Full Professor of Universities Hors Échelle, Agrégation in Medicine (French Competition
d'Agrégation de Chirurgie – Paris 1990), to pronounce the academic eulogy. It was September 07, 2022 in Tours (France), in front of an audience of world scientific luminaries of medicine, and having in common the French language. The performance of the Rector of the University of Yaoundé I illuminated the ceremony, and honored Cameroon in which the scientific aeropage, recognized a world-renowned scientist, in the person of His Majesty Professor Maurice Aurélien SOSSO.

Selected pieces of this speech which betrayed in the person of Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, a man of an impressive general culture. A fine connoisseur of academic habits and customs. A model of university governance and with which, the University of Yaoundé I, has never ceased to know its most glorious rankings, and on the continental level, and on the world level.

Lire aussi
Cameroon - Charity Campaign: Ajara offers eye care in Garoua

 When a child is born, it is already old enough to die, said Martin Heidegger, a German philosopher of the last century. The evidence of such a truth, however, cannot save us from the pain and the great sadness felt very deep in our hearts, before the echo of the void left by the disappearance of this imposing baobab tree of medical science.
On March 25, 2020, when the entire planet was facing a disastrous and unprecedented health crisis linked to the Covid-19 pandemic, Professor André GOUAZE, Founding President of the International Conference of Deans of Faculties of Medicine of he French expression, honorary and emblematic Dean of the prestigious Faculty of Tours passed away in his 93rd year. »

“At home in Africa, as the African poet Amadou Ham pâté Ba had said, “when an old man dies, a whole library burns”. No words can console us at the thought of seeing such a precious library burning. I knew and rubbed shoulders with Professor André GOUAZE when I was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of Yaoundé in the 93s. , a look at the evaluation of the Faculties of Medicine and the quality of the training of students and teachers, which he rigorously wanted to improve. It was this privileged professional relationship that led me to become very close to him. Professor André GOUAZE was an eminent neuro-anatomist whose name will remain eternally engraved in gold letters, in the marble tables of French and world medicine. He was a precious scientist who will have expressed his legitimacy and his academic excellence in the field of neuro-anatomy. Its legitimacy in this area will remain marked as an indelible imprint. He will have given everything to preserve lives, to save lives, but above all, to train new generations. Thanks to his pugnacity, insight, tenacity and sagacity, Professor André GOUAZE played a remarkable role in the development of medical education in Tours. He was an exceptional teacher.>>

Lire aussi
Cameroon: A scanner to reduce medical evacuations in Bertoua

<

  • Living with the lessons of the past: an action plan serving a great cause. The health of man and society, Joué-Les-Tours, 2012.
  • Tomorrow medicine, 1996.
  • A Certain Idea of ​​Medical Power: Power and Responsibility, 1991.>>
Lire aussi
CPDM: Batchenga has its new political leaders

These few selected excerpts are representative of this academic tribute from the Rector of the University of Yaoundé I, His Majesty Professor Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, for the memory of Pr André GOUAZE. A lectern grip that highlighted the global aura of a senior Cameroonian academic, and whose identity merges with medical science: Professor Maurice Aurélien SOSSO. A scholar of great caliber who has always known how to walk in the paths of academic excellence and university modernity, traced by His Excellency Paul Biya the President of the Republic of Cameroon.

Darren Lambo Ebelle,
Higher Normal School of Yaoundé

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Société

Hommage académique du Pr André Gouaze: L’aura scientifique du Pr Maurice Aurélien Sosso illumine le Cameroun

Recteur de l’Université de Yaoundé I dans la capitale politique du Cameroun, Sa Majesté le Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, a, le 07 septembre 2022, eu l’insigne honneur de prononcer les hommages académiques en la mémoire du Pr André GOUAZE, Président fondateur de la Conférence internationale des Doyens de Facultés de Médecine d’expression française. L’illustre disparu était aussi, Doyen honoraire de la très huppée Faculté de Médecine de Tours en France.

Avec toute la dignité, la mesure et la justesse qu’on lui connaît, c’est à juste titre qu’il est revenu au Recteur de l’Université de Yaoundé I, le Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, lui-même Professeur Titulaire des Universités Hors Échelle, Agrégé de Médecine (Concours Français
d’Agrégation de Chirurgie – Paris 1990), de prononcer l’éloge académique. C’était le 07 septembre 2022 à Tours ( France), devant un parterre de sommités scientifiques mondiales de la médecine, et ayant en commun la langue française. La prestation du Recteur de l’Université de Yaoundé I a illuminé la cérémonie, et honoré le Cameroun en qui l’aeropage scientifique, a reconnu un scientifique de renommée mondiale, en la personne de Sa Majesté le Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO.

Morceaux choisis de ce discours qui a trahi en la personne du Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, un homme d’une culture générale impressionnante. Un fin connaisseur des us et coutumes académiques. Un modèle de gouvernance universitaire et avec qui, l’Université de Yaoundé I, n’a cessé de connaître ses rankings les plus glorieux, et sur le plan continental, et sur le plan mondial.

Lire aussi
Bolloré Transport & Logistics Cameroun se mobilise à l'occasion d'octobre rose pour lutter contre le cancer du sein

 » Lorsqu’un enfant naît, il est déjà assez vieux pour mourir, aurait affirmé Martin Heidegger, philosophe allemand du siècle dernier. L’évidence d’une telle vérité, ne peut pourtant pas nous soustraire à la douleur et à la grande tristesse ressentie très au fond de nos cœurs, devant l’écho du vide laissé par la disparition de cet imposant baobab de la science médicale.
Ce 25 mars 2020, alors que la planète toute entière faisait face à une crise sanitaire désastreuse et sans précédent, liée à la pandémie de la Covid-19, le Professeur André GOUAZE, Président fondateur de la Conférence Internationale des Doyens de Facultés de Médecine d’expression française, Doyen honoraire et emblématique de la prestigieuse Faculté de Tours s’éteignait dans sa 93 ème année. »

<< Chez nous en Afrique, ainsi que l’avait fait savoir le poète africain Amadou Ham pâté Ba,  » lorsqu’un vieillard meurt, c’est tout une bibliothèque qui brûle ». Aucune parole ne peut nous consoler à l’idée de voir brûler une aussi précieuse bibliothèque. J’ai connu et côtoyé le Professeur André GOUAZE lorsque je fus Doyen de la Faculté de Médecine de Yaoundé dans les années 93. Il était alors patron de la Conférence Internationale des Doyens de Facultés de Médecine d’expression française qui avait, de ce fait, un regard sur l’évaluation des Facultés de Médecine et sur la qualité de la formation des étudiants et des enseignants qu’il tenait avec rigueur à améliorer. C’est cette relation professionnelle privilégiée qui m’amena à devenir très proche de lui. Le Professeur André GOUAZE était un éminent neuro-anatomiste dont le nom restera éternellement gravé en lettres d’or, dans les tableaux en marbre de la médecine française et mondiale. C’était un précieux savant qui aura exprimé sa légitimité et son excellence académique dans le domaine de la neuro-anatomie. Sa légitimité dans ce domaine restera marquée comme une empreinte indélébile. Il aura tout donné pour préserver des vies, pour sauver des vies, mais surtout, pour former de nouvelles générations. Grâce à sa pugnacité, sa perspicacité, sa ténacité et sa sagacité, le Professeur André GOUAZE a joué un rôle remarquable dans le développement de la pédagogie médicale à Tours. C’était un enseignant exceptionnel.>>

Lire aussi
Cameroun : Kah Wallah et Alice Kom, la traîtrise dans les gènes

<<Le Professeur André GOUAZE s’est également inquiété du devenir de la formation médicale et de la médecine, de son insuffisance d’humanisme et de compassion, de sa division en sous- spécialités ( une médecine de plus en plus dichotomisée), de sa séparation sèche entre la médecine humaine et la médecine vétérinaire. Penseur fécond et inspiré, cette vision a été manifestée dans ses multiples ouvrages. Trois de ces contributions peuvent être citées ici :

  • Vivre avec les leçons du passé : un plan d’action au service d’une grande cause. La santé de l’homme et de la société, Joué-Les- Tours, 2012.
  • Demain la médecine, 1996.
  • Une certaine idée du pouvoir médical : pouvoir et responsabilité , 1991.>>
Lire aussi
Recrutement de 150 aides cheminots à CAMRAIL : Attention à l’arnaque !

Ces quelques extraits sélectionnés, sont représentatifs de cet hommage académique du Recteur de l’Université de Yaoundé I, Sa Majesté le Professeur Maurice Aurélien SOSSO, pour la mémoire du Pr André GOUAZE. Une prise de lutrin qui a mis en évidence l’aura mondiale d’un haut universitaire camerounais, et dont l’identité se confond à la science médicale : le Pr Maurice Aurélien SOSSO. Un universitaire de grand calibre qui a toujours su marcher sur les sillons de l’excellence académique et de la modernité universitaire, tracés par Son Excellence Paul Biya le Président de la République du Cameroun.

Darren Lambo Ebelle,
École Normale Supérieure de Yaoundé

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page