Africa

Burkina Faso: Ibrahim Traoré claims to control the situation in Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso's self-proclaimed leader Ibrahim Traore said on Sunday that his military was in control of the situation in the country and that life was returning to normal. This is what we learn from a press release read by the putschists on national television, reports Agence France-Presse.

“Things are gradually returning to normal, so we invite you to go about your business freely and to divest yourself of any act of violence and vandalism […] in particular those which could be perpetrated against the embassy of France or the French military base,” the statement read.

Earlier this Sunday, a large group of young people, who support the putschists, protested outside the French embassy in Ouagadougou, trying to set fire to the building and get inside the French mission. Supporters of Traore also erected the barricades on the main roads of the country's capital on Sunday, inspecting cars.

Lire aussi
Democratic Republic of Congo: Misappropriation of funds allocated to Covid-19

On Saturday, the country's president Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba, whose overthrow had been proclaimed by the putschists, called "to return to reason to avoid a fratricidal war which Burkina Faso does not need". Mr. Damiba insisted that the putschists were spreading false information in order to manipulate the population and denied reports that he was hiding on a French base in a suburb of Ouagadougou, as claimed by the putchists.

A group of soldiers staged a coup in Burkina Faso on September 30, seizing power and ousting Damiba from the presidency. Traoré became the new ruler of Burkina Faso. He headed the country's government structure, the Patriotic Movement for Preservation and Reconstruction. The military, who took power, announced the dissolution of the government of the country, the suspension of the Constitution and of all political activity. On their orders, the borders of Burkina Faso have been closed indefinitely, and a curfew has been imposed throughout the country.

Lire aussi
Burkina Faso: As in Mali, ECOWAS threatens the military with sanctions

237online.com

Leave comments

Back to top of page button

Afrique

Burkina Faso : Ibrahim Traoré affirme contrôler la situation au Burkina Faso

Le dirigeant autoproclamé du Burkina Faso Ibrahim Traoré a déclaré dimanche que ses militaires contrôlaient la situation au pays et que la vie reprenait son cours normal. C’est ce qu’on apprend d’un communiqué lu par les putschistes à la télévision nationale, rapporte l’Agence France-Presse.

« Les choses sont en train de rentrer progressivement dans l’ordre, nous vous invitons donc à vaquer librement à vos occupations et à vous départir de tout acte de violence et de vandalisme […] notamment ceux qui pourraient être perpétrés contre l’ambassade de la France ou la base militaire française », est-il indiqué dans le communiqué.

Plus tôt ce dimanche, un important groupe de jeunes, qui soutiennent les putschistes, a protesté devant l’ambassade de France à Ouagadougou, en essayant d’incendier le bâtiment et de pénétrer à l’intérieur de la mission française. Les partisans de Traoré ont également érigé dimanche les barricades sur les principales routes de la capitale du pays, en inspectant les voitures.

Lire aussi
Le CSNU exhorte les rebelles et les autorités éthiopiennes signer un cessez-le-feu

Samedi, le président du pays Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba, dont le renversement avait été proclamé par les putschistes, a appelé « à revenir à la raison pour éviter une guerre fratricide dont le Burkina Faso n’a pas besoin ». M. Damiba a insisté que les putschistes diffusaient des fausses informations afin de manipuler la population et a démenti les informations selon lesquelles il serait caché sur une base française dans une banlieue d’Ouagadougou, comme l’affirmaient les putchistes.

Un groupe de militaires a organisé un coup d’État au Burkina Faso le 30 septembre, s’emparant du pouvoir et évinçant Damiba de la présidence. Traoré est devenu le nouveau dirigeant du Burkina Faso. Il a dirigé la structure gouvernementale du pays, le Mouvement patriotique pour la préservation et la reconstruction. Les militaires, qui ont pris le pouvoir, ont annoncé la dissolution du gouvernement du pays, la suspension de la Constitution et de toute activité politique. Sur leurs ordres, les frontières du Burkina Faso ont été fermées pour une durée indéterminée, et un couvre-feu a été instauré dans tout le pays.

Lire aussi
BURKINA : Capitaine Ibrahim TRAORÉ prend des décisions fortes et salutaires

237online.com

Laisser un commentaire

Bouton retour en haut de la page